A Musical Feast - Featuring a delicious assortment of musical morsels!

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 -  7:30 pm at Mary Irwin Theatre, Rotary Centre For The Arts


Dale Barltrop, Violin (Vancouver Symphony Concertmaster)
David Harding, Viola
Lorna McGhee, Flute
Joy Branagan, French Horn
Ian Parker, Piano

Chamber Music Kelowna is thrilled to present another exciting season finale that continues the tradition of presenting the best and brightest of Canadian and International talent, performing beloved and eclectic repertoire designed to delight, inspire and enchant.  For this special concert we welcome back audience favorite performers who have previously performed on CMK's series, as well as introduce you, our loyal audience, to musicians making their CMK debuts.  This season finale brings together a stellar ensemble of remarkable musicians who will share a brilliant buffet of music in a delightful variety of ensemble groupings, including works by Max Reger, Max Bruch, Bach, Beethoven, and the not-to-be-missed magnificent Brahms horn trio.  This finale concert additionally features another world premiere performance of a CMK commission work by composer Marcus Goddard.  Chamber Music Kelowna is proud and privileged to present such a remarkable musical event as the season finale of the 2011-12 season.

This CMK concert is presented as part of the Windsor Plywood Spectacular Music BC Concert Series, a project of MusicFest Vancouver.

CMK is pleased to collaborate in presenting these artists on UBCO's Minds and Music Series for a special Music and Wine event on April 25.  See www.ubc.ca/okanagan/mindsandmusic/welcome.html for info.

Mr. Ian Parker appears as part of a collaborative "artist sharing" arrangement in partnership with the Okanagan Symphony.   He will be the OSO's featured soloist performing the remarkable Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto #1 on May 4, 5, 6, 2012.


Programme: (subject to change)

Max Reger [1873-1916]         Serenade for flute, violin and piano, Op. 141  (mmts tbd)

F Chopin [1810-1849]             Nocturne in B+ Op 62 No. 1

Max Bruch  [1838-1920]        Eight pieces for violin, viola and piano Op. 83 (mmts tbd)

L van Beethoven [1770-1827]         Serenade, Opus 25 for flute, violin, viola (mmts tbd)

Johannes Brahms [1833-1897]       Trio Opus 40      For violin, horn, piano

World Premiere
Marcus Goddard [1973-]                CMK commission work 'Encore'  for violin, viola,                                                                                           flute, horn and piano 


Photo: Ursula Pidgeon